• Apprentice
    24 Apr 2023, 3:24 p.m.

Complete novice here, so bear with me!

About 30 years ago I bought this watch that claims to be an old IWC from the
    1920's (?) I'd paid little attention to it till recently, and wondered if the
    experts here can help a bit:

I believe it might largely be a 1920's IWC, with the 'S&Co' and 'Peereless'
    movement in there - Caliber 64, if my google skills are working. Case says its
    9ct gold, and is a double backed 'Hunter' type (right?) Has the 'CN' mark in
    there, apprently correct for this vintage IWC watch.

Dial looks too clean to me, but then... I see some of the old enamel dials of
    this period, and they can be surprisingly clean. I still suspect a redial, but
    have not removed the movement to see the back etc.

The back is engraved for Crockers, which is a very large olde-worlde pub in
    London (still going!).

This is outside of my wheelhouse - I'm into 40s/50s military IWC. But
    somehow... a smart flea market trader talked me into buying this!

Any thoughts/ advice/ input? Thanks!

• Apprentice
    24 Apr 2023, 9:24 p.m.

The movement number indicates that it was made 1918.

Concerning the Stauffer Watches I recommend the website of David Boettcher who
    has been writing here years ago:
    www.vintagewatchstraps.com/IWC.php#StaufferIWC There are pages for
    IWC, Stauffer, hallmarks etc. That could be interesting for you. The CN
    Hallmark is for Charles Nicolet a former director of Stauffer & Co in London.
    All cases in gold or silver imported by Stauffer after June 1907 were
    hallmarked CN.

I also have a watch with a calibre 64 from 1918. Often these Staufer watches
    came with own dials which did not mention IWC. So I am not sure if the dial or
    at least the writing on your watch is original. But as far as I know calibre
    and case are original.

• Apprentice
    26 Apr 2023, 7:53 p.m.

Thanks so much for the confirmation. I kind of agree with what you say.