• 26 Jun 2014, 7:59 p.m.

Dr. Nelson Herring in many ways is a 21st century Renaissance Man. He is a man of many talents and interests. He is what Americans call a Southern Gentleman. Nelson is always self-effacing and, as he says, “I'm uncomfortable being in the limelight. The last thing I would want would be to have anyone think I'm showy”.

But also Nelson is an IWC watch collector par excellence. And if he feels awkward talking about himself, it's all the more reason that we need to talk about him.

By profession, Nelson is a dentist. His interests surpass though his scientific prowess and extend to the aesthetic. He enjoys gardening and oil painting, as well as photography. But mostly he loves watches, and especially IWC.

His Father bought a Mark XII IWC watch in the mid-1990s. Until then, Nelson had some IWC catalogs but never had seen nor handled an actual IWC watch. But this was the start of a lifelong relationship collecting IWC watches.

What really excited Nelson was not just the Mark XII, but also the impending entrée into an entirely new world. Through the Collectors' Forum on IWC's website, Nelson learned about many IWC watches, IWC's history and he made countless friends. As he relays, the camaraderie of collectors is “what it's all about” and “the friendships are amazing”.

Nelson's IWC collecting then “just happened”. But what he purchased involved serious goals and well-honed aesthetic values. He loves the search for the highest quality and only the best examples. His favorite IWCs are his iconic Mark 11 and his Jubilee Portuguese watches. As he says, these watches have “perfect design and proportions”. He also admires the script signature International Watch Co. on the Jubilee's dial.